Oosterbeek, Olanda (Paesi Bassi)

view from our house

view from our house

view from our house

Iscritto dal


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 72 hoursfast replier
Non disponibile allo scambio

Il membro non ha specificato le date per lo scambio

House in Arnhem, Netherlands

We live in Oosterbeek, a village west of Arnhem and about 100 km east of Amsterdam.
Our house, which we renovated nearly completely over the last years, is a lovely and friendly, free standing house on a 1000 m2 parcel in a quiet neighbourhood.
Downstairs (140 m2):  main entrance hall with a grand piano, big L- shaped living with a kitchen (fully equipped), a loam stove (for heating in the winter), flat schreen TV, DVD, wifi. From the livingroom you can enter the garden on 3 sides.
In the back of the house there is an extension of the house: back entrance, which we mostly use, hall, toilet, washing room, spare room and a Bed and Breakfast consisting of a big room and a bathroom with toilet. This room, with a seperate entrance, is also available.
First floor (70m2): 4 bedrooms ( 1x double and 3x single), bathroom with toilet. On the second floor is an attic.
 Around the house is a garden with terraces, a big lawn, a trampoline and a table-tennis-table for good weather. Some large trees provide shade in the summertime. 
Our house is situated near the river Rhine, with a beautiful free view over the river forelands /meadows. Each and every day we enjoy our house and the surroundings. Our guests in former exchanges liked it too. It’s a fine place to stay, and a good starting point for your holiday in Holland.  
Swimming is possibly in a lake, which is directly connected to the river Rhine. It is a 10 minute walk. In Arnhem there are several swimming pools. The sea and the beaches are further away (about 100 km), but you can easily do it in a daytrip (but mind the traffic jams on hot summer days). If you want, you can make walks direct form the house, either in the river forelands or in the parks and woods of the veluwe.  
Places of interest in the direct neighbourhood: the National Park 'Hoge Veluwe' (the biggest nature reserve in Holland), Burgers Zoo in Arnhem and the National Open Air Museum in Arnhem.
Amsterdam is 1 hour by train, there are 4 trains running per hour. Rotterdam and the port are 1:15 hour away, Antwerp (Belgium) 2 hours, and beautiful old dutch cities like Zutphen 30 minutes.

Leggi di più

La nostra famiglia

  • 2 Adulti
  • 0 Bambini
  • 4 Scambi effettuati


  • consultant youth care

La nostra casa

  • Tipo di casa: Casa
  • Piano: 2
  • Ambiente: In periferia
  • Camere da letto: 5
  • Bagni: 2
  • Posti letto: 8
  • Superficie calpestabile: 200 m2
  • Superficie totale: 1000 m2


Nella mia casa

  • Animali da compagnia - Non permessi
  • Bimbi piccoli - Benvenuti

Tipi di scambio

  • Scambio casa


  • accesso ad internet gratuito
  • Riscaldamento centrale
  • Lavatrice
  • Lavastoviglie
  • Asciugatrice
  • Televisione
  • Pianoforte


  • Giardino
  • Balcone
  • Parco giochi
  • Garage
  • Biciclette: 2

Cosa offre la casa

  • No fumatori
  • Adatto a persone disabili
  • Luogo ideale per ritirarsi in tranquillità
  • Si richiede cura degli animali in casa

Lista destinazioni preferite

  • Paris, France
  • Brittany, France
  • Sweden

Lingue parlate

  • Inglese
  • Francese
  • Tedesco
  • Olandese

Il nostro quartiere

Aeroporto più vicino: schiphol - 110 km

Oosterbeek is a small ‘green' village, 10.000 inhabitants, along the river Rhine with many parks. The centre of Oosterbeek is nearby, and provides all the necessary shops. There are many possibilities for making long walks in the neighbourhood or trips by bike. We have 2 bikes for adults and 1 bike for kids at your disposal.
Oosterbeek took it's role in history in 1944. During Operation Market Garden -the Alied forces attempted to occupy the Arnhem bridge over the river Rhine with airborne troops- Oosterbeek was in the midst of the fight. The Airborne Museum and the Allied War Cemetary are places of interest.
Arnhem has an attractive shopping centre with all possible shops, especially clothing. It has also a famous zoo,called Burger's Zoo, the Open-Air museum, with many old dutch houses, mills etc. and the Arnhem Museum of Modern Art. In the parks of Arnhem, like the ‘Sonsbeek' park near the station, you can picnic or go to the free concerts. (  Nearby is "The veluwe", the biggest nature reserve of the Netherlands ( In the national park ´Hoge Veluwe´ is the famous Kröller- Mullermuseum with many paintings of Vincent van Gogh. (
The western part of Holland is approximately 1.30 (car-)hour away with cities like Amsterdam (van Goghmuseum, Anne Frank-house), Rotterdam (harbour) and The Hague (government, Peace Palace). By train is also possible and takes about the same time. In the other directions there are also many interesting places to visit in a day-trip, like Nijmegen, Zutphen, Groningen, Maastricht. The German border is only 30 km's east of Oosterbeek. The Ruhr-area with cities like Dusseldorf and Oberhausen (famous musea and attraction parcs) is a 2-hour drive. Major attraction parks for children like the Efteling or Walibi world can be reached within 1 ½ hour. (
You can easily cover all of Holland in daytrips, since Oosterbeek is located very central. If you want to see more of Europe you can fly for a short ‘holiday-break’ from Weeze, Eindhoven, Amsterdam to other destinations all over Europe. Or you go by train or car and in a 6-hour drive you will be in Paris or Berlin.        


  • consultant youth care


  • Nessun bambino

Animali da compagnia

  • Non abbiamo animali domestici.

Circa la nostra famiglia

 We are Nic (59) and Marlies (58). We raised our three children Susan, Meike and Sietse in this house. They are all grown up now, and they live their own life with study, work and friends. Our daughter Meike usually comes with us on holidays: she has Down Syndrome, She lives in a group home but she is frequently with us of course.
Marlies runs the Bed and Breakfast and is politcally active in the city council. Nic works in the youth care as an advisor/expert.


This member has completed 4 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: