ELLON Aberdeenshire, Gran Bretagna

The view from our front garden with snow on the sand dunes.

The view from our front garden with snow on the sand dunes.

View from our front garden

View from our front garden

Looking back at the village from the golf course.

Looking back at the village from the golf course.

The view from our front garden with snow on the sand dunes. View from our front garden Looking back at the village from the golf course.

Iscritto dal


Non disponibile allo scambio

Il membro non ha specificato le date per lo scambio

House in NEWBURGH Aberdeenshire, Great Britain

We live in a wooden house on the banks of the Ythan Estuary in Aberdeenshire. The village beach attracts a large number of seals, and the moving sand dunes that we overlook are an International Site of Scientific Interest because of their size and the large populations of bird life that they attract. This summer we also had two whales near the beach. You can walk along the beaches for miles, all the way down the coast to Aberdeen if the tide is out. We overlook the village golf links and have wonderful views over the estuary from both the front and back of the house.
We are enthusiastic Intervaccers and have travelled all over Europe and to Canada through Intervac. We are open throughout the year for the possibility of a weekend exchange within Scotland. We are also interested in longer exchanges during school holidays.
Our house has a large open-plan area downstairs plus a sun room / dining area. It is lovely to sit at the dining table and watch the tide come in and out of the estuary. The living area has a wood-burning stove.
Downstairs is also the master bedroom with ensuite bathroom and another shower room.
Upstairs are three other bedrooms and a bathroom.
Out in the garden are two other buildings - a library /study and a family room. We have a gas BBQ on the deck joining these two.
Our village is small but has a butchers, a general store, a hairdresser and a post office. Also a hotel with good dining facilities. The nearest town is Ellon, three miles away.
We are happy to exchange cars.
Frederik is a Senior Lecturer in Medieval History and Sarah is a Professor in Media and Communication at the local universities. Thomas is 22 and will be graduated from university so may or may not be with us on an exchange and Nikolas will be 14.
We have two cats named Apricot and Annifrid

Leggi di più

La nostra famiglia

  • 2 Adulti
  • 2 Bambini
  • 23 Scambi effettuati


  • University Lecturer
  • University Lecturer

La nostra casa

  • Tipo di casa: Casa
  • Piano: 0
  • Ambiente: In campagna
  • Camere da letto: 4
  • Bagni: 3
  • Posti letto: 5


Nella mia casa

  • Animali da compagnia - Non permessi
  • Bimbi piccoli - Benvenuti

Tipi di scambio

  • Scambio casa


  • accesso ad internet gratuito
  • Computer a disposizione
  • Camino
  • Lavatrice
  • Lavastoviglie
  • Asciugatrice
  • Televisione


  • Giardino
  • Biciclette: 2

Cosa offre la casa

  • No fumatori
  • Auto necessaria
  • Uso/scambio della macchina
  • Luogo ideale per ritirarsi in tranquillità
  • Si richiede cura degli animali in casa

Lista destinazioni preferite

  • Aperto a tutte le offerte
  • France
  • Denmark
  • Sweden
  • Italy
  • Norway
  • Germany
  • Scotland, UK
  • Canada
  • United States

Lingue parlate

  • Inglese
  • Tedesco
  • Danese
  • Norvegese
  • Svedese

Il nostro quartiere

We live in the mouth of the Ythan estaury and both the front and back windows of the house overlook the estuary and the surrounding sand dunes. The area is a wildlife reservation with one of the largest breeding population of eider ducks in Europe. From the local beach you can see seals and there are some beautiful cliff walks in the area.
 Aberdeenshire has some beautiful Scottish castles to visit, such as Castle Fraser or Crathie Castle, and lots of whisky distilleriies as well. We are a short drive from other famous locations such as Braemar and Loch Ness.


  • University Lecturer
  • University Lecturer


  • Ragazzo - Età: 26
  • Ragazzo - Età: 18

Animali da compagnia

  • Two cats


This member has completed 23 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: