Edinburgh, Gran Bretagna

Rear view of our home

Rear view of our home

Rear view of our home

Iscritto dal


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 72 hoursfast replier
Disponibile per lo scambio
Date per lo scambio Durata
November 02, 2020 - September 16, 2022 1 weeks

During these strange times we would be willing to look at an exchange in the U.K. for up to one week.

Home in Edinburgh, Great Britain - very easy access to city centre

We are very sorry but our home is not suitable for young people under the age of sixteen.

Our home is a detached 1930’s old red sandstone bungalow on two levels. There is a bus service which operates every 15 minutes into the centre of the city (the journey is just 20 minutes) and we live 5 minutes from the city bypass, which gives easy access by car to the Highlands and the Borders of Scotland. For us our location is perfect - easy access to the wonderful cultural centre of Edinburgh ,yet a quiet , leafy and friendly neighbourhood.

Our accommodation includes - on the upper level: the master bedroom and bathroom with tub and over bath shower. On the lower level: two double bedrooms – one is our main visitors’ bedroom with fully fitted wardrobes, dressing table and double bed while the other has 2 single guests beds, fitted wardrobes and dressing table. Also on the lower level is a formal dining room with fireplace ; large family room, also with a fireplace, which opens out through French doors into a conservatory. The conservatory or “sitooterie” as we call it, is our favourite relaxation area with comfortable seating, a sunny aspect overlooking our garden and where we will sit to read the weekend newspapers, enjoy cups of coffee and watch the many activities of the garden birds. Additionally on the lower level there is bathroom with walk in shower; a very large breakfasting kitchen which also overlooks the garden and a large utility room with washer , dryer and second refridgerator for cool drinks.

 Our garden is sunny throughout the day as it faces east south east; an area in which to relax during fine weather surrounded by flowering shrubs, climbing plants and an apple tree.There are seating areas for relaxation and for barbecues. 

Although Edinburgh is Scotland’s capital city it is an urban area blessed with many open and green areas. Many of them are in the heart of the city. One such area is the Royal Botanic Gardens 

You can be out of the city very quickly  and within easy distance are the fishing villages of the Fife coast and the home of golf St Andrews.Edinburgh and Scotland have such a rich vein of activities to offer visitors that it is impossible to note them all here. Instead come and see them all for yourself. We would love to hear from you.

Interested? Have a look at this 3 minute video of Edinburgh on YouTube


Leggi di più

La nostra famiglia

  • 2 Adulti
  • 0 Bambini
  • 17 Scambi effettuati


  • Retired teachers
  • Retired teachers

La nostra casa

  • Tipo di casa: Casa
  • Piano: 2
  • Ambiente: In città
  • Camere da letto: 3
  • Bagni: 2
  • Posti letto: 6


Nella mia casa

  • Animali da compagnia - Non permessi
  • Bimbi piccoli - Non permessi

Tipi di scambio

  • Scambio non simultaneo
  • Scambio casa


  • accesso ad internet gratuito
  • Computer a disposizione
  • Riscaldamento centrale
  • Camino
  • Lavatrice
  • Lavastoviglie
  • Asciugatrice
  • Televisione
  • Altri strumenti musicali


  • Giardino
  • Parco giochi
  • Garage
  • Biciclette: 1

Cosa offre la casa

  • No fumatori
  • Uso/scambio della macchina
  • Luogo ideale per ritirarsi in tranquillità

Lista destinazioni preferite

  • United Kingdom
  • Japan
  • USA
  • Europe

Lingue parlate

  • Inglese


  • Retired teachers
  • Retired teachers


  • Nessun bambino

Animali da compagnia

  • Non abbiamo animali domestici.

Stile di vita

Since we have retired we have been able to indulge ourselves in travel , visiting far flung relatives and friends but mostly enjoying the outdoors. Gordon particularly loves the wonderful Scottish mountains and when the weather is suitable will spend days hillwalking with like minded friends . Music is a great love of us both . G has an eclectic range of musical tastes but specialises in blues and jazz ; he attempts to play the banjo ! Helen loves singing and being a member of an Edinburgh choir which practises once a week and performs publicly a number of times a year ; most recent exciting adventures were singing in Paris in May 2019 and in Hyde Park in London at "Proms in the Park in September" 2018; mostly it is performances in and around Edinburgh. Both of us like to exercise and while H attends a number of dance focused exercises classes we both will walk to and fro around our compact beautiful city . Our city is blessed with numerous theatres and concert halls ; we will both attend popular and classical music concerts and H regularly attends ballet performances with friends. We are spoiled every August with the fringe/festival and since retirement we have taken every opportunity to enjoy the myriad of different performances. G also volunteers each week for a morning in a soup kitchen which offers meals for homeless people and H volunteers, twice a month , to support anxious families caught up in the criminal justice system. To relax H enjoys gardening.


This member has completed 17 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: